Anyone use a power seat?

Started by chopped, February 09, 2009, 07:04:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chopped

Got the seats a year or so for free. Not a clue what they came from. Look good in my 64 Buick but...How can I wire the driver to at least move up and back. The plug under the seat has about 10 contacts. And I'm a carpenter, not an electricion.

enjenjo

is there a switch? You have a picture of the plug?
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

chopped

Quote from: "enjenjo"is there a switch? You have a picture of the plug?

On the seat side is a lever and a knob, a picture would take some doing. I was wondering if I could cut the connector of and stick 12 v. to it untill it moves. My worry was that I could burn something out putting me up a creek. The plug has 6 prongs (?) on one side and 4 on the other, They line up with#1-2 and 5-6

enjenjo

yes, you could burn it up.

Typically there are three motors, but there may be more. If you can trace the wires to a motor, and there are two wires, then it's pretty sure that those two wires control that motor. One is grounded, and the other is powered to move the seat one way, and it would be reversed for the other direction. If there are three wires to each motor, it gets more complicated. The plug will help tell what make of car it's out of. Look at the harness for any makers tag or part number. Some of the newer seats have a control module that can easily be burned up if connected wrong. Also most seats have air bag sensors in them now.

chopped

WoW, If it was easy everyone would be doing it. I'll get into it tomarrow and try to get enough info to be able to help, thanks.

chopped

Has three motors and what looks like one pump, # M600165R06, only #I can see. Motors have two wires, red, red/yellow stripe. Green, green/yellow stripe. Blue, blue/yellow stripe. May be Chysler van. Working tward pics in the future. This any help?

enjenjo