Any "Painters" on here?

Started by HotRodPaint, August 30, 2008, 10:39:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HotRodPaint

I love to talk shop, and see what others are doing, that might be interesting.

58Apache

I am NOT a pro, but I painted my car myself, with the exception of the flames, which I hired out.

I am pretty proud of myself and learned a lot doing it. I have a few areas to touch up, but overall I'm pretty happy!

I even put in some micro-flake, used black, and shot 2 rounds of 3 coats of clear. Sanding in between the rounds.

I used all Southern Polyurethane paints. But they are no longer making the base coats.

http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/dd16/csmartin33/?albumview=slideshow

Steve

HotRodPaint

Good looking job!  Black is the hardest, since the bodywork, and finish work have to be near perfect.

I've got a black one coming....and what is worse is it is a truck from the thirties.  That means it was beat up for 70 years....and now it needs to be better than new.  :-(

If it didn't have a big nasty Hemi, I would not be so quick to take it!  :-)

I use mostly R-M paints, with some HOK and X-Otic paints mixed in.  If anyone ever needs some advise, I am always glad to share.

One question.......now that you have done a job that requires a lot of effort.......will you do another.  A lot of people say "no more" after the first big job.

Crosley.In.AZ

I have not painted cars in years.  Learned paint stuff during the " Every body needs a Custom Van " era .  :lol:

What brands are the top 3 used for  primer to the top coats ?

I've still got 5-6 paint guns.. gravity feed , siphon , couple of  mini-guns.  They are old enough that todays painters would look at them and ask " Did you really paint cars with that?"

:T)

In the old school daze .. another fellow and i painted used cars for cheap-o car lots with enamel house paint thinned out with lacquer thinner.  The cars would shine like a spanked baby's butt.
Tony

Plutophobia (Fear of money)

HotRodPaint