Mustang II Spring information

Started by 348tripower, April 25, 2004, 06:51:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

348tripower

Anybody have the spring diameter and number of coils for the various Mustang II springs available? And maybe over all lengths.  I would like to go higher on the front of the 35. I still have a tire rub and need to go up about an inch in the front to cure it. Took it out on its maiden voyage yesterday. 50 miles on the odometer now. I still have a few things to sort out, but it really runs good. It was fairly cool yersterday, but no overheating problems and the .040 over 283 runs perfectly. Can't remember the exact rear end ratio, but it is around 273 making it  a real fuel miser.
Don :lol:
Don Colliau

GPster

I have  a Moog  catalog and it has all that stuff in it. Unfortunately I'm not good at all with scaning and printing and sending and the wife and granddaughter Are still enjoying Sunday morning sleep. Give me an idea of what you already have in there and if they seem strong enough and tell me if you have cut them or not. They way I have to look them up that includes free height and installed height and design weight. I would have to start by looking them up by coil diameter which would tell me how many coil, the diameter of the wire the coil is made from, how many coils, free height, installed height and then the Moog part number that I would look up and find out what it fits. A better spring might not even be out of a Mustang II. If your ride is OK and you just want an inch you might try finding one of those spacers that fits between the bottom of the spring and the lower "A" arm. To get an inch at the wheel you might only need 3/4" at the spring. Changing springs to change ride height can be real touchy with the strength and ride. I read Bob Paulin's answers religously and understand about half of it. Let me know where you're starting and I'll try to tell you where you're going. GPster

Dirk35