700 R4 pan gasket leaking

Started by Learpilot, January 23, 2007, 08:14:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Learpilot

I checked the pan to make sure it was not bent before I installed it. It is the stock pan. I got a filter and cork gasket from Autozone. When I first put it on it did not leak. I torqued the pan bolts. It has about a 1000 miles on it and I checked and the pan bolts are still tight.  
Is there a better gasket ? Should I use a gasket sealer ?
Thanks for your info !!!
Rick Harris

BFS57

Hello;
Yes, I have the same problem. The cork gaskets don't seem to hold up good. I was told by a really reliable source to go to the dealer, which I did and got one from them. Totally different!
Now, I'm just waiting to have enough time to change it out.
I also hear that using "sealants" to put the gasket on can ruin the transmission!
I'm no expert but thats what I have observed.

Bruce

Leon

I bought an aluminum pan at a car show and put it on and haven't had a leak since.  The stock pan was clean and straight but seeped a little.  The new pan seals great.  I think I got it for about $40.

Learpilot

Quote from: "Leon"I bought an aluminum pan at a car show and put it on and haven't had a leak since.  The stock pan was clean and straight but seeped a little.  The new pan seals great.  I think I got it for about $40.

Thanks  Bruce and Leon for the info. I will get a better gasket. Is your aluminum pan  thick at the flange for the better seal and what gasket do you have ?
Thanks Rick Harris

phat rat

Can't tell for sure how low your car sits, but one bad thing about the aluminum pans is if you bump or scrape the pan it might break. It won't  bend like a steel pan will.
Some days it\'s not worth chewing through the restraints.

Learpilot

Quote from: "phat rat"Can't tell for sure how low your car sits, but one bad thing about the aluminum pans is if you bump or scrape the pan it might break. It won't  bend like a steel pan will.