Inline booster.

Started by Gilles, April 27, 2005, 09:52:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gilles

I was looking last night at some old Rod&Custom magazine, around 10 years old. Particularly the tech articles ont the "Mail order delivery project" I noticed that on this car the brake booster is not mounted directly behind the dual master-cylinder but inline in another place. I never see such a thing :?:  before.

On my roadster I have a non-booster master-cylinder. The car stops well but I have to pull the pedal very hard. There is not enough room to install a brake booster underfloor where the master-cylinder is, due to the K crossmember.

So maybe an inline booster like on the Mail order delivery can solve my problem? I had a look on the Speedway motors catalog but couldn't find one.

I wonder if some of you have used one and have idea were to find one, or on which car?

Gilles :?:

Uncle Bob

Here's a link to the site for C H Topping, http://www.chtopping.com/Home/index.html
They designed the system.  Toward the bottom of the index is the choice for Street Rod Builder, April, 2001, click that and it will pull up the article.

Sorry, no first hand use report.
Luck occurs when preparation and opportunity meet.

Ohio Blue Tip

There is a remote single power booster.  It was a "Midland" booster.  The problem is it only handles boost for a single master cylinder.  I just removed one from the 1934 Ford I am building, it had a single master cylinder and the booster that fed a dual proportioning valve using a tee to feed front and rear brakes.  I pulled it all out to opt for a dual system.

I had an old motor home that used two Midland power boosters for a dual system.

There is also a new hydraulic booster that goes in front of the master cylinder and runs off of a power steering pump, vary small, I think it may be quite expensive.
Some people try to turn back their odometers
Not me, I want people to know "why" I look this way.