Home Powder coating systems

Started by enjenjo, April 20, 2005, 10:29:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

enjenjo

Any one with experience on how this holds up? I know Eastwood, and harbor freight both have systems, is one better than the other? Clue me in guys
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

Dusty

Frank...
I have helped a Buddy of mine.  He bought the Harbor Freight model, but we wound up going to the Easterwood powder.  It is a whole lot nicer finish that the HF powder.  He has parts on a 39 Studebaker truck that have been on 3 years, and still look good. Most of the parts are under the hood, and the brake & gas pedals, so they are not exposed to weather all the time.  The HF gun works fine, it's just the powder is not so good.  We rigged up an oven out of one of his rent houses.  It really worked good..
Benny Rhoads
Orange,  Texas
THE SECOND MOUSE GETS THE CHEESE

Jbird

I've been using the Eastwood cheapy kit for about eight years now. it's holding up way better than I am. For a durable long lasting finish powder coating is the way to go IMHO. I've been playing with mixing the powders to come up with some otherworldly effects. I'll have to get a pic of the jewelery box I made for my oldest grandaughter. My sister thinks I should satrt making them for crafts fairs. The only problems I have with powder coating are the amount of wasted powder and metals with chemical impurities, oil, coolant etc. I've got a few pieces I need to coat today, if anything comes out special I'll post a pic.
       Jbird 8)
A biblical plague would come in real handy just about now
Badges? Badges? We don\'t need no stinking Badges!!
Team Smarts official dumbfounder
The first liar ain\'t got a chance

Mr Cool

Anyone got any details on where these are avail from?
Ive been paying out quite a bit on powder coating and still have alot more to do.
Im nobody, right?
And dont forget, nobody\'s perfect.

moparrodder