Mmild hop up routes for a '64 Thunderbird 390?

Started by OldSub, June 02, 2010, 10:54:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OldSub

I've been a GM guy all my life and know almost nothing about Fords.  That might be slightly overstated because in the early 80's I worked as a truck mechanic on a small fleet of Ford trucks but I remember little about them and nothing about hot rodding them.

A friend has asked me what he can do to improve performance as he rebuilds the original 390 in his '64 Thunderbird.

His son has suggested swapping a 427 crankshaft into it.  I've no idea if that is a realistic strategy or not, nor any idea what it would take to do it.

Are there some good ideas I should offer him?

My own answer was a little simpler.  I say replace the 390 with a 460...

Steve@OldSub.com
www.OldSub.com . www.MaxwellGarage.com . www.OldGasTowRigs.com

wayne petty

there are dozens of ways to swap cranks around different FE blocks to come up with various displacements..

and a whole bunch of new parts...

one thing... be sure they plan on spending the time to check the valve clearance with the lifters EMPTY and bottomed out..  i will have to find the gap...  its over 0.080 as i recall..   with the cam on the base circle.. this is all done before the start while its on the engine stand..

there are various lengths of push rods available to do the job.. its vital that the valve stem heights be measured before taking the valves out of the heads.. but after taking off the springs..

there are a bunch of FE forums... some well written books.. and tons of online articles on building them..  

new blocks.. new heads.. intakes.. and a bunch of other parts are still available..

some bowl porting..  a street cam selection.. careful carb work.. converting to electronic ignition.. quailty fasteners for the exhaust manifolds to the heads with antiseize.. not going crazy with the compression ratio upping..   will make it really nice to drive..