OT, but related, New driveway

Started by 29abone, May 10, 2009, 04:11:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

29abone

:roll: I need to replace my driveway.  Should I use steel or fiber reinforced concrete?  Probable thickness 5 inches.  How deep and what kind of base should I have?

Thanks,  :P

Larry
Larry

The joy is in the journey.

jaybee

I'm no expert on concrete but I've been pleased with my fiber reinforced concrete.
Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength. Eric Hoffer  (1902 - 1983)

Fat Cat

I would go with wire reinforced concrete. In driveways I like the wire reinforcing that looks like fencing. It need to be pulled up into the concrete as it is poured but I like it better in our climate. If you were going to drive trucks and semis across it I would suggest wire and fiber reinforced concrete.

wayne petty

i have always wondered about digging it slightly deeper around the edges  of the slab for added strength at the edges..  

and there are little concrete cubes with wires embedded to tie to the wire below the pour...   keeps the wire in the lower 1/3 of the slab

Crosley.In.AZ

what PSI rating is required on the concrete there?

:?
Tony

Plutophobia (Fear of money)

wayne petty

here are some FAQ's etched in cement

http://www.cement.org/basics/concretebasics_faqs.asp

http://www.cement.org/homes/ch_bs_driveways.asp

http://www.concretenetwork.com/concrete/concrete_driveways/the_correct_concrete_mix.htm

more here

http://www.concretenetwork.com/concrete/concrete_driveways/

hope this helps.... i am going to spend more time reading...

the last driveway i helped pour ... was 15 inches thick...   it had to support a freightliner tractor hauler and various ring trenchers and backhoes..

i would really really hate to have to be the one who trys to pull that up ...