Holley problems

Started by 47convert, May 09, 2009, 02:57:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

47convert

I have a 66 ELCamino with a 292 cu. in. sbc in it that runs fantastic, normally. A couple of days after filling up with gas the other day it started to run rich. When I pulled the air cleaner off for a look, I found gas drizzling out of both the primary and secondarys of the carb at idle. I ended up pinching off the tube that fills the rear bowl so I could get home. Even then it was really rich. Does this sound like bad gas possibly holding the needle valve open? Can I get away with just clening the needle and seat assy? I have changed the filter. I have an old Holley that I can steel the tube from.

Charlie Chops 1940

Giving the carb a good cleansing would be my first step. Holley's tend to be very sensitive to the scum that comes with dirty gas. I have a 600 that I've been using for close to 20 years and every 3 or 4 years it seems it needs this ritual. Rebuild kits aren't overly expensive but you will at least need bowl gaskets and the transfer tube o-rings.

Charlie
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but, a true friend will be sitting next to you saying. "Wow...that was fun!"

Poster geezer for retirement....

A Hooligan!

wayne petty

i agree that crud in the fuel will make the carb leak...

you can in an emergency  when the carbs flood...  

get the engine started... keeping it revved up.. pinch off the suction line to the fuel pump... just before the engine dies... release the line...  the surge of fuel will sometimes clear the junk out of the needle... this usually works better on the primary side..

how it works...   the fuel level in the float bowls drops... opening the needle and seat wide...   you have stopped the fuel ..  so just before the carb is empty...  releasing the fuel will surge into the carb through the open seats...  usually clearing out the trash...    sometimes you have to do it twice or three times...