My '36 chevy 2door coach

Started by The Claw, July 29, 2008, 12:26:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Claw

Sup all

I am a newbie to this site and hope to get all or most of the stuff that i am looking for in getting my "old school " ride back on the road. First and formost this will not be a restoration to original as that would take way to long and i might be old and grey by that time.... no pun intended. So this would either be a " Rat Rod " or a street/hot rod

Also i have seen on so many websites that a person could get replacement parts for Almost any car, question is are they any good and are they made of fiberglass or sheet metal ? as well seeing that i am looking to drop a small block 350 into it would i need to do any changes to the chassis seeing that it's such an old car ? Or would it be better to get a new chassis

In regards to the car itself ... it is in a so so half good half bad place in its life .... only has some rust and in the corners of the doors

So yeah ... such is I lookin forward hearing from you all and making some friends in the hotrod world ...

And for those who didnt know i am from South Africa
to win by a second or to win by a mile .... winning is winning and second place sucks .....

enjenjo

I moved so it will get more views. Welcome to the RRT.

Just about all replacement parts, fenders ect for your car are made of fiberglass. Most repair parts, rear pan, floors ect are made of steel.

Are you using the stock suspension? brakes? trans? give us a clue, and we'll try to help you out.
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

Harry

Is the stock front suspension that knee action pile of iron ? If so, that has to go. It will save you a few hundred pounds. The frame should be good. I think they have a X crossmember. But you could put boxing plates along the inside.
There's nothing wrong with fibreglass body parts.
South Africa? Are you near any diamond mines? Send some for more information.

The Claw

Well tx ...... enjenjo