Full frame or front clip?????

Started by chevy 47 coupe, October 09, 2007, 09:55:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chevy 47 coupe

H i all.I have a 47 chevy stylemaster cp.and i was thinking of doing a frame swap with a g-body chassis(monte carlo,olds cutlass etc).I was told not a good swap by some members .he gave me some ideas as how to go about useing that frame.might be too much of a hassel?? is there another vechicles frame besides the toyota truck frame.or would it be easier to use a nova,camaro subframe and weld to existing 47 frame.i would like to use as many existing parts from the donor vechicle as posible(engine,sterring,  rear, poss electric).if i use the subframe any help as to go about doing this would help a lot.as where to cut frame.measurements etc    thanx

Charlie Chops 1940

A quality MII front suspension kit is probably the easiest. There are some bolt on units available...Chassis Engineering if I remember correctly. A sub will work but it's a lot more work if you've never done one before...and the hat style frame on the Chevy isn't as easy to attach a sub to. Can be done but takes a bit of experience.

Charlie
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but, a true friend will be sitting next to you saying. "Wow...that was fun!"

Poster geezer for retirement....

A Hooligan!

Fat Cat