Brake return spring question

Started by Ohio Blue Tip, April 19, 2005, 09:51:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ohio Blue Tip

What's the best way and location to put a brake pedal return spring on an under the floor system?  Pictures or a sketch if anybody has one?
I have a typical under floor master cylinder and typical after market pedal.  (1934 Ford with stock frame)
Some people try to turn back their odometers
Not me, I want people to know "why" I look this way.
I\'ve traveled a long way and some of the
roads weren\'t paved.

Ken

C9

Quote from: "Ohio Blue Tip"What's the best way and location to put a brake pedal return spring on an under the floor system?  Pictures or a sketch if anybody has one?
I have a typical under floor master cylinder and typical after market pedal.  (1934 Ford with stock frame)

Here's one way.
You can do it without a lathe if you cut out the seat from two pieces of aluminum with hole saws.
Two different diameters will give you an internally stepped seat that will locate the spring at the front.

For the rear, just stretch the spring open a touch so it wraps around the front cast part of the wheel cylinder.
That will center the spring as well as retain it.

Then you'll need to cut some threads on the stock M/C pushrod after you cut the eye off.
(The threads are hard to see in the photo, but they are there.)

The spring proper is a commonly available hardware store item.
C9

Sailing the turquoise canyons of the Arizona desert.

Rochie

OBT,
Jay Carnine did a popst on a brake return spring over on the HAMB.  Nice and simple.  Here's the link

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=43686&highlight=brake+return+spring

Rochie

Rochie

Dave

Quote from: "Ohio Blue Tip"What's the best way and location to put a brake pedal return spring on an under the floor system?  Pictures or a sketch if anybody has one?