'57 Chev Rearend Question

Started by 39chevy, April 17, 2005, 10:11:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

39chevy

Before the snow flew last winter I was able to get the '57 rearend installed on my '39 but all I could do was roll it into the garage and wait for warm weather to return so I could get the body back on to see how the car looked for wheel base and ride height.

This weekend turned out to be warm enough so I got to it, but when I lowered the car to roll it out of the garage the rearend was locked up as in rotate one wheel and the other counter rotates.

I have never worked on a rearend before so I don't know all the ins and outs of the things so could one of you gurus give me some lessons here?  What am I missing?

Thanks, Don

enjenjo

sounds like for some reason your ring and pinion is locked up. Possibly a bearing got rusty over the winter?
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

reborn55

are you saying that on the ground the wheels try to turn in opposite direction.  On the non-posi units if you turn one wheel in one direction the other will turn in the opposite direction while up in the air.

enjenjo

normally, the wheels will roll easily in either direction, as long as the pinion gear is free to turn, posi or not. If the pinion is not turning, with an open rear, the wheels will turn in opposite directions when you jack it up. so, for whatever reason, the pinion is not turning. A bearing tued up, something caught between the ring and pinion, the driveshaft is in, and the trans is in gear or in park, any one of several reasons.  But the reason the wheels are turning opposite directions, the pinion shaft isn't turning.
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

39chevy