Fabbing sheetmetal intakes?

Started by DocsMachine, February 06, 2005, 04:25:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DocsMachine

Newly delurked guy with a question:

Does anyone have some good info on the whys and wherefores of fabbing sheetmetal intakes? I'm a decent machinist and I'm learning/relearning the TIG under some professional guidance, but I'd like to find out some more info, preferably from someone who has already done it.

The application is an EFI manifold for a daily driver, so things like plenum volumes and runner sizes aren't quite as critical as they'd be for a pro-stockers' tunnel ram, but I'm still sweating things like building in proper clearance for gaskets, should I bother with a heat crossover, and will I have corrosion problems from the coolant? (Iron block, copper radiator.)

As well as things like how thick should I make the gasket faces? 1/2"? Will 1/4" flex too much to seal well? Is 3/4" too thick? (I know it'll be a pain to weld...) Is injector angle critical? Should they spray right at the valve, or is "pretty much anywhere into the runner, heading in that general direction" okay?

Thanks for any and all replies.
Doc.

GPster

Welcome, One of the things you'll lean here is that with the number of people here someone has usually tried that but it might help if you are more specific. What kind of engine? Gpster

DocsMachine

Well, I thought it was more a fabrication question than an application question, but on rereading I note I didn't even mention it was a V-8, so yeah, a few details couldn't hurt. :D

I have a '66 Toronado (that I've been working on for considerably longer than Jay Leno has been doing his, but I'm still gonna be called a "copycat" :D ) with a '68 455 that I want to convert to EFI. The problem is the car's very low hoodline- there's almost no room for a bolt-on TBI injector like a Pro-Jection, even the 2-barrel unit, since the stock intake is literally "sunk" in the middle.