Sheet metal tools

Started by kb426, April 17, 2011, 09:18:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kb426

I'm a believer in "you get what you pay for" to a certain extent. That being said, if you're only going to use something once or twice, it doesn't seem to be good business to buy the best and let it sit. After I finished up the 32 3 years ago, I bought some of H.F.'s finest. A planishing hammer and an english wheel. I haven't had reason to use them until the bike project that I'm currently working on. I used the wheel this last week. Most of what I've read in the last few years has stated that it's too flimsy. I concur with that. Trying to get it to repeat was real tough. I used the planishing hammer twice in the last 2 days. It actually works. I read somewhere that of the two, that the hammer was more useful. I can see that seems to be correct. I'm an amateur with both these tools but I have great interest in learning about them. Now I wonder how a good one would work.   :lol: When this project is completed, I will overhaul the wheel. There have been several threads on how to repair them so the engineering should be short. Learning is a privilege of life.
TEAM SMART

enjenjo

I agree. Some of harbor freight's stuff is good as is, it works good without problems. I have gotten good service out of their die grinders, as good as the high dollar ones. Some work good with a little modification as they are basically sound. engine stands and so forth. Other tools are junk from the git go.
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

Charlie Chops 1940

I have a small bench top Metal Ace wheel that came with one medium radius wheel. A year or two ago I was in the HF store in GR and they had a 6 wheel set on sale for about 1/3 -$35 or so -of their regular price. I bought them, and with minor rework they now fit my machine. They are quite true and have increased what the machine can do.

Given my ham handed methods they are just as good as a $500 set.