oil additives

Started by junkyardjeff, April 14, 2011, 11:19:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

junkyardjeff

Now that I know there might be a issue with a rod bearing is there anything I can add to the oil to prolong this motor untill I can do something with it,its going to be fall or winter before I can tear into this motor or install another and would like to drive it locally.

ragdol

I used to sell BG products, good stuff. You will have to find a shop that uses them to purchase some motor oil additive. Not sold in retail stores.

Carnut

I thought all old Stovebolt Chevy Sixes had to run on STP oil treatment.

taxpyer

GM makes a great oil additive and at not a bad price too,,,,,,,,,, :shock:  right at your friendly dealer. :wink:
What\'s that noise?,,, Never mind,, I\'ll check it later

junkyardjeff

I think I have some STP around here somewhere and will give it a try,I need to keep it going through the summer and even though I have been driving it for a couple years with the noise now that I know whats wrong it will go quicker.

Digger

What is the problem with the bearing? If it's wear/clearance related, I would just run 40 0r 50 wt. oil until I could repair it. :?
Just when you think you are winning the Rat Race, along come faster rats!

Digger

fast401

All oil made today does not have enough ZDDP.  Using GM additive is necessary with ANY engine with flat tappet cams.  My engine builder lost 2 engines before we figured out what was up with the oil.  Since 2006 we have not lost an engine.  He uses Rotella and GM EOS or Brad Penn with all break ins. Also the price for GM EOS has gone through the roof when they found out everybody needed it.  It was originally 7 bucks and the last bottle I purchased was 27.
Disturbing the peace since 1970!!!!!

junkyardjeff

This motor was broken in back in 90 ot 91 so I hope the oil had enough zinc back then

parklane

I understand that oil for diesel motors has more zinc than regular engine oil.