Question on fabricating a gearbox X-member

Started by OzRod, July 17, 2004, 09:16:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

OzRod

The vehicle is a 1970 Holden ute. I have the need to design a gearbox crossmember for a Ford Toploader up against a 350sbc. I have seen many fab'd crossmembers made and know the design and materials needed. I consider my welding good enough to attempt this.

I have everything installed on the vehicle (engine, gearbox, tail shaft, etc) except a gearbox crossmember. The car is on stands with the rear leaf suspension compressed, and the front suspension just hanging there.

I am a home mechanic not an engineer, and therefore this is not common sence to me..... so may I ask....

How far UP should I mount the gearbox? Are there any rules of geometry that I must abide by in relation to the tailshaft angle?

I'm probably worrying about nothing as usuall, just want to get it right the first time i gues.

Cheers,
Chris

Bob Paulin

Quote from: "OzRod"The vehicle is a 1970 Holden ute. I have the need to design a gearbox crossmember for a Ford Toploader up against a 350sbc. I have seen many fab'd crossmembers made and know the design and materials needed. I consider my welding good enough to attempt this.

I have everything installed on the vehicle (engine, gearbox, tail shaft, etc) except a gearbox crossmember. The car is on stands with the rear leaf suspension compressed, and the front suspension just hanging there.

I am a home mechanic not an engineer, and therefore this is not common sence to me..... so may I ask....

How far UP should I mount the gearbox? Are there any rules of geometry that I must abide by in relation to the tailshaft angle?

I'm probably worrying about nothing as usuall, just want to get it right the first time i gues.

Cheers,
Chris

A Chevy small block should tilt downward toward the rear approximately five degrees.