Very Small English Wheel

Started by Anonymous, June 20, 2004, 11:59:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Anonymous

I am not an automotive hobbiest.  I am a jeweler.
While watching the discovery channel, I became intrigued by the English Wheel and it's ability to make compound curves. Making a flat piece of metal into a fender of gas tank is outstanding.  I thought planishing conchos was advanced.  I'm heading back to school.

I work on a much smaller scale, and am thinking of making a tiny english wheel based on an 8-inch C-clamp.

As near as I can tell, neither the anvil wheel nor the shaping wheel can pivot, indeed, it seems they should be as "rigid" as possible. Is this correct?

Does the shape of the shaping wheel determines the radius of the curve?

The wheeling process appears to work-harden the metal rather quickly.  Annealing softens non-ferris metals.  It this reccomended?  It there any advantage to working the metal warm?

river1

can't help with some of your questions but if you click on tech at the top of this page it will take to a page where it shows how to make a small e wheel.

later jim
Most people have a higher than average number of legs.

enjenjo

The rigidity of the wheel is not important, the repeatability is. The frame of the wheel can flex, as long as it always flexs the same.

The wheel and anvil can't pivot while in use, but can pivot 90 degrees when desired to wheel the other direction, it can be useful at times. Otherwise, the mounting of the wheel should be rigid.

The pressure used is not as high as it seems, the actual contact area is only about .090 wide, so a little pressure goes a long way.

Depending on the amount of curve desired, annealing is used. Basically, when the metal stops moving easily, I anneal it. Sometimes only part of it.