Power top for a 46 Ford

Started by teal32, October 01, 2008, 10:25:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

teal32

A good friend wants to put a power top on his '46 Ford convert. It's always been a manual top. First, did Ford make a power top in '46? And 2nd, where would he go to find a kit that would work? I've searched the net for a power top kit and haven't had any luck. HELP!!! :?:  :(U)
Your drug test came back positive...Welcome aboard!

Don\'t get to close....I\'m alergic to stupid

paul2748

Yes - Ford did have a power top as standard equipment as far as I know.  I have a 48 conv.  Stock, the top motor was located in the engine compartment.  

For my car, I used the stock top cylinders and a electric/hydraulic motor out of a 68 midsize Ford and located it under the rear seat.  I used the hydraulic lines out of the 68.  With adapters, the lines fit the 48 cylinders.  I have been using this for about 25 years with no problems.

Use power steering fluid or auto trans fluid .  Do not use brake fluid - if there is a rupture in the line brake fluid will ruin any paint it comes into contact with.

I am sure that any motor out of most any later model convertible will work.  Get the hoses and switch when you pull the motor.

Quote from: "teal32"A good friend wants to put a power top on his '46 Ford convert. It's always been a manual top. First, did Ford make a power top in '46? And 2nd, where would he go to find a kit that would work? I've searched the net for a power top kit and haven't had any luck. HELP!!! :?:  :(U)

enjenjo

Hydro E Lectric has all the parts you need, including cylinders and pumps.
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

wayne petty

convertable top pump tips...