Chevy 350 TBI/700R4 into a 1967 Rambler American

Started by ArizonaBear, May 05, 2008, 08:48:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ArizonaBear

Greetings from a newbie here:

I found out about this site over @ chevytalk and wondered on over.

My 'problem child' is a 1967 Rambler American SW with a 1972 MY 232 Six and matching AT.

I am not happy with the MPG of only 15 or thereabouts hence my thinking 'V8'.

Thought about an AMC motor but they are getting pricey plus no overdrive AT was ever offered behind 'em; hence my contemplating a 1987-90 Chevy 350 TBI/700R4 package out of a GM truck.

Has anybody done this particular conversion?

I am not concerned about the hassles of hooking up the TBI system; am more concerned about physically dropping in the GM drivetrain.

enjenjo

It's a  near bolt in. You can make an adapter to bolt a 70 Chevy truck V8 mount to the stock frame stands. A plate adapter will fit the trans to the stock crossmember. You can tweak the stock shift linkage to fit the Chevy trans, no manual first gear, but that's ok. You can mod a stock radiator to fit the Chevy, or a 67 Camaro radiator fits nice too.
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

tomslik

i've got a 73 challenger 340 radiator for mine and the 340 hoses (upper and lower) are a perfect fit.
you prolly won't have to deal with this but the scattershield is a big problem;)
so are full length headers...

might want to think about suframe connectors too.
amc did in late 68 and all 69
The last thing I want to do is hurt you. But it\'s still on my list

ArizonaBear

No scattershield needed here: I am going with a 700R4 AT.

The drivetrain will remain stock for simplicity and ease of parts availability. Heck, I may even keep it single exhaust with a catalytic converter :P

Besides: face it; 200 net horsepower with gobs of torque will be plenty in a ca. 3,000 car  :D

1FATGMC