11" Mustang II brakes

Started by Learpilot, February 06, 2008, 11:02:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Learpilot

How much better are the 11" disk brakes on a Mustang II front end than the stock 9" ?
My 36 Dodge weighs 3100 #.  I have a 1" bore master cylinder / 9" dual booster.
Is it worth the expense to upgrade ?
Where did you buy your kit ?
How much did you pay for it ?
Thanks in advance for your answers to my questions !!!
Rick Harris

Bugpac

I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left.
*****Youngest Member of THE TEAM*****

Charlie Chops 1940

I ran the stock MII disc set up on my '40 Chevy convert (3700 #'s) for 12 years or so and switched to an ECI 11" kit about 4 years ago. It wasn't a dramatic change but definitely an improvement. Been on two trips through the Rockies and up and down Pikes Peak - never a bit of fade - can't say that for the stock set-up.

Charlie
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but, a true friend will be sitting next to you saying. "Wow...that was fun!"

Poster geezer for retirement....

A Hooligan!

Uncle Bob

One more thing to consider is front track width/fender clearance.  Don't know if it's an issue with your car and tire/wheel setup, but the typical OE type rotor usually widens the front track by 1/2" per side.  ECI with the aluminum hub (perhaps other companies too) "gives that back" so there's no additional offset.
Luck occurs when preparation and opportunity meet.

Charlie Chops 1940

Good point Uncle Bob...in fact I think it narrows the width about 1/4" per side, but in my case the tires still rubbed the fenders slightly in lock to lock.

Charlie
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but, a true friend will be sitting next to you saying. "Wow...that was fun!"

Poster geezer for retirement....

A Hooligan!

Uncle Bob