newest project

Started by phat rat, November 22, 2006, 03:07:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

phat rat

Well I've been contemplating this for 3 years and now I've got to work on it. My car trailer was a 16 footer that I have for some time felt was too small so, I'm adding 8 ft to it. In the process it goes from tandem 3500# axles w/single axle 10" brakes to tandem 6000# axles w/tandem 12" brakes. As far as new axle placement I only have to move one axle what was the front axle location will now be the rear axle location. The rule of 1" behind bed center for every foot of trailer bed length gives me an axle center that would only 3" forward of what I'll have doing it this way. The pics show how I offset the cuts and also the sleeves I'm putting in the tubing so that I'm not just relying on butt welds. The sleeves are 1/8" and 2 ft long. This is what I accomplished yesterday a.m. Just thought of something, anyone wondering how I'm going to get the center rails in,  the back was pushed up to the front only for these pics.
Some days it\'s not worth chewing through the restraints.

enjenjo

You going to mount a tool box on the front?
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

Dave

Quote from: "enjenjo"You going to mount a tool box on the front?

He is gonna mount a * house..
Dave
uh oh......... :oops:

phat rat

Quote from: "enjenjo"You going to mount a tool box on the front?

Sort of, a 40" semi sleeper. No motel bills when parts chasing.

kb426

Just in case you don't know: if you're going to use Torflex axles, they are designed to run at 75% or more loaded capacity. Much less and they will beat your load to pieces going down the road.
TEAM SMART

phat rat

Quote from: "kb426"Just in case you don't know: if you're going to use Torflex axles, they are designed to run at 75% or more loaded capacity. Much less and they will beat your load to pieces going down the road.

Just using regular spring axles

Bruce Dorsi