Galvanized?

Started by jaybee, April 01, 2006, 07:17:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jaybee

I'm working with some old pipe that I initially thought to be black iron with at least 3 coats of paint but now I'm not sure that the bottom coat isn't actually galvanizing.  It doesn't have the characteristic crazed finish of galvanizing, but it's been in the weather.  The color is a slightly brownish gray.  It kind of powders when you hit it with a grinder.  How can I determine if this is in fact galvanizing and safely remove it if necessary?
Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength. Eric Hoffer  (1902 - 1983)

donsrods

I'm not an expert in this, but here is a little I do know.

When you grind something that is galvanized, the grinder makes no sparks until you hit bare metal. The galvanizing will also load up grinding discs quickly.

While not extremely hazardous, grinding and especially welding galvanizing has some things to watch out for. You can get sick to your stomach from the fumes, and some say drinking milk helps the sickness.

You can remove galvanizing where you want to weld by grinding, or for larger areas you can sandblast.

Wear a respirator, and avoid the fumes.

What are you doing with this pipe, just out of curiousity??

Don

jaybee