How do ya'all do it

Started by EMSjunkie, March 10, 2006, 10:55:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EMSjunkie

Getting ready to put the coupe back together, as soon
as the paint is finished.  :)

was trying to get a game plan together.   8)

I was wondering if I should "hard wire" the taillights, turn signals
horn, etc. by soldering and heat shrinking them, or.............

would it be better to use weatherpac connectors like the big 3 use.  :?

I kinda like the idea of weatherpac connectors, in case I ever have
to replace the lights.  :oops:

so, if I go with the connectors........where is a good source for them?

Thanks  for the advice

Vance
"I don\'t know what your problem is, but I bet its hard to pronounce"

1934 Ford 3 Window
Member, Rural Rodders
Member, National Sarcasm Society  "Like we need your support"
*****Co-Founder  Team Smart*****

donsrods

I'm not a fan of soldering, as I work in the Marine business, and soldering is a no-no on boats.  I use waterproof crimp on terminals that you heat with a heat gun when you are done crimping, and the shrink tubing tightens up on the wire and keeps water out.

This stuff is available at any marine supply store or house, and lasts and lasts. My roadster was done 15 years ago, and never has had a wiring issue, and it got real wet a lot. I use marine grade wire too, because each strand of the wire is tinned, and won't corrode easily.

My personal opinion is that soldering damages the wire thru flux and heat.

JMO,

Don

EMSjunkie

Quote from: "donsrods"I'm not a fan of soldering, as I work in the Marine business, and soldering is a no-no on boats.  I use waterproof crimp on terminals that you heat with a heat gun when you are done crimping, and the shrink tubing tightens up on the wire and keeps water out.