Another HAMB new guy and my Chevy

Started by blown240, January 13, 2006, 12:49:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

blown240

I just heard about this place on the HAMB.  So I figured I'd come check it out.

I've been doing the car thing for about 6 years now.  I didn't know a thing about working on them when I started, but I have always been pretty good with my hands.  I cut my teeth on a 85 Volvo 240 that ended up being a blown, shaved, and bagged street machine. (hence the screen name)

Here are a couple pics of my 51 Chevy.  I bought it in September from a buddy for $1500 and am building it into a mild custom.  Its got a 235 with a 3 speed.

This is what it looked like when I drove it home, it was worst when I bought it.  Its come along ways in 4 months:

The next plan is to step notch the frame and get the windows in.  I also am going to spray the roof silver metalic.

Here is a pic or 2 of the 240 that started it all.  Sometimes I wish I still had this car.  It had a supercharger off of a Toyota Mini Van on the stock non turbo motor with a cam, intake, exhaust, yadda, yadda.  It turned 200,000 miles going down the track at Fontana:

and a link to a burnout video in the same car:

http://www.hardcars.com/blown240/burnout.MPG

Here is a car that I started to build, but I never finished because the Chevy became available.  Its a 63 Volvo 122.  It was bagged and had the beginings of a Twin Turbo 283 from a 57 Vette.

I did every speck of work on all these cars.  And I have learned a whole lot more than I ever thought I would have.

And finally the car that really fired up the desire to build cars.  My 56 Mercury Monterey Pheaton.  This was the original paint, it had a 312 and open headers.  I had to sell it to because I couldn't afford it and my girlfriend.  (but its OK, we have been married 6 years now.)

Thats about it.  Sorry for such a long post, but I figure if I am going to introduce myself I might as well do it right.

rumrumm