Race car onboard camera

Started by WZ JUNK, May 01, 2005, 03:08:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WZ JUNK

Does anybody have any thoughts on mounting a video camera in a race car?  Last year at Bonneville we had a camera in the Studebaker but I would like to try for a little better quality this go around.  I wonder how they mount them in the NASCAR cars and what kind of camera they use.  I also would like to know more about filters for the lenses so that we can not only see inside the car but outside as well.  I have no knowledge in this area at all.  Last year we used the surveillance camera out of Sumners business.
WZ JUNK
Chopped 48 Chevy Truck
Former Crew chief #974 1953 Studebaker   
Past Bonneville record holder B/BGCC 249.9 MPH

Brootal

Just as a quick aside... Did you know that it was Aussies that developed 'Race Cam' technology. :)

Can't really help with the mounting, but in regards to seeing the inside and outside of the car, the only thing you could really do is somehow light the interior better.

It's similar to when you take a photo from inside the house with a window in the background. What the camera will tend to do (I know... it only does what you tell it to do, but I'm talking about auto settings...) is read the relatively bright light coming in the window and adjust accordingly. This usually makes the subject quite dark. It's called 'backlighting'.

It's the same in the race car and at the salt it would be worse than usual due to the large contrast between the bright white salt and the dim interior.

Not sure what kind of camera you have, but maybe if you can somehow manually set it so that the exposure is correct for the inside of the car, then the view outside should also still be OK because of the brightness.

Confused now??? :)
Yes it is Grandad\'s Old Rambler!

//www.the-rumbler.com

slocrow

Brootal is pretty much spot on with regards to picking your poison. It's either the outside or the inside and set the white balance accordingly.