Long time, no see. Would like some radiator suggestions

Started by 48builder, March 28, 2014, 09:26:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

48builder

Hi Everyone,

Been a few years since I've posted. Old-timers may remember the 48 Chevy custom street rod I've been building for 17 years now. Hope to get started back on it this year. Work keep getting in the way.

Other than that, I need a new cooling system for my 39 Chevy with 350 and auto tranny. The radiator in it is a Walker I bought in 1990. It works fine as long as the air temp is under 80 degrees. Much over that and I over heat. Always has. I have a shroud and electric fan and I know it pulls a lot of air through.

Thinking of putting in an aluminum radiator. Any suggestions on make, etc? I looked on the Griffin web site and theirs with shroud and fans is $1500. A little more than I'd like to spend but will spend what I need in order to have the thing work. I'd like to drive it a bit more this year.

Suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Walt
'48 Chevy Custom sedan in progress-Z28 LT1 drivetrain, chopped, shortened, too many other body mods to list
'39 Chevy driver

416Ford

For my 46 Ford with a 302 Automatic in it. I was able to find C,G,&J before they started making a 100 different radiators. I think I only paid $275 mine and now there getting up in price. Still not as high as Walker or Griffin so here is a link.

http://www.cgj.com/index.php?cPath=69
You never have time to do it right the first time but you always have time to do it again.

48builder

Just got off the phone with C, G and J. They have what I need at what seems to be a great price. They quoted me 395 for radiator, 75 for oil cooler, 125 for 16" fan and 125 for shroud. So for 730 plus shipping I'm in business. I'll probably add on a A/C condenser which I imagine should be under $200.
'48 Chevy Custom sedan in progress-Z28 LT1 drivetrain, chopped, shortened, too many other body mods to list
'39 Chevy driver

kb426