I just can't spit the hook out.

Started by Beck, July 23, 2010, 10:50:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beck

The #974's guys have got me hooked (like a fish). I thought I had spit the hook out in Feb but I guess it wasn't so. The salt is reeling me in.
I'm studying the Bonneville rule book again. I started a thread in Jan about motors.
http://www.roddingroundtable.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=10608&postdays=0&postorder=asc&&start=0
I didn't follow through with anything at that time. I thought the urge would go away if I didn't act on it. I was wrong again. (thats common, just ask my wife)
My plan up until about 3 weeks ago was to not attend Speed Week. BUT, I'm just starting to make my list of necessities for this years trip. (I just picked up my prescription sunglasses) I am going to ask myself the whole time I'm there this year, "Are you sure this is what you want to do?" If the answer each time I ask the question is "YES!" then I guess when I get back I will have to make some class decisions. Guys on the 974 crew, please keep asking me that question! Please!
I like blown fuel because alcohol is somewhat forgiving with big boost, but the truck classes I am interested in do not have a fuel class, only gas.
There are several open classes in blown fuel rear engine modified roadster, but building one of those would be more difficult since the complete chassis would be hand built. The transmission behind the driver would make shifting more difficult unless it was an auto. I guess most of those guys don't run a rear suspension. They just look a little weird to me.
Building a truck would be much easier since I would be required to use the truck frame and stock body. Blown gas modified truck and modified mini truck both have a open record class.
Gas limites the amount of boost, unlike alky. Hooley uses a supercharger, but we think turbos are the hot setup now. Since I don't have a supercharger I just as well go with a turbo.