Power windows

Started by timkins, February 06, 2009, 02:20:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

timkins

I relocated the switches for my power windows from the doors to the dash. After the relocation the windows slowed down considerably. I replaced the stock Chevy 5 wire switch's with aftermarket 5 wire switch's. I just recently purchased a 30 amp 2 breaker circuit panel and Power window wiring. I am going to hook the circuit breaker to the solenoid on the starter and run the hot wires from the circuit breaker to the switches. Does this sound like a proper way to install? There are currently no relays in the power window circuit. Will I need them? I am not very good at wiring so if anybody has any suggestions a wiring diagram would help tremendously.

Learpilot

Quote from: "timkins"I relocated the switches for my power windows from the doors to the dash. After the relocation the windows slowed down considerably. I replaced the stock Chevy 5 wire switch's with aftermarket 5 wire switch's. I just recently purchased a 30 amp 2 breaker circuit panel and Power window wiring. I am going to hook the circuit breaker to the solenoid on the starter and run the hot wires from the circuit breaker to the switches. Does this sound like a proper way to install? There are currently no relays in the power window circuit. Will I need them? I am not very good at wiring so if anybody has any suggestions a wiring diagram would help tremendously.
If you want your power windows to be hot  all the time that sounds good. I think I would add a switch to turn it off for long periods of not driving. You can use a relay so you can use a mini switch.
Rick

wayne petty

putting in relays to run the power windows will require one of these for each window motor...  

and a pair of normal 30 amp 12 volt din relays

these dual relay sockets are used in many car alarm systems for items like window motors, door locks, anything with a motor that has to be reversed..