Slippig 700R4

Started by specialdel, August 20, 2007, 08:18:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

specialdel

Here's one for you transmission guys. I have a 1984 700R4 behind a mild SB Chevy. The problem is that at moderate to heavy throttle, the trans slips between 2-3 & 3-4 upshifts. At light throttle the upshifts are fine. The 1-2 upshift is very quick, one could call it early.

I have checked the TV cable adjustment and am using a TPI throttle adaptor for the Edelbrock carb. I did install a SS braided Lokar dipstick assembly to replace the factory unit.

I'm wondering if perhaps the Lokar dipstick is not registering the fluid level correctly (more than is actually there). I've received opinions varying from the valve body or the front pump to TV cable or dipstick. Has anyone got other suggestions/cures?

slocrow

specialdel; I'm not an expert but here's a few things I think I know. I too have the Locar dipstick with a stock pan. It's extremely hard to read. Some have suggested roughing up the end with Scotch-Brite or notching the tip so that fluid will gather in the notches, all so you can see the level better.
Are you using the factory or a Locar type TV assembly cable? I assume factory just because you didn't mention any other. I also assume you are anchoring this factory cable in either a carb mounted or manifold attached bracket. You know the type, it has about a 1" square hole with a clocking side, that this cable's outer shield snaps into. At the tranny end there is a little wire hook that the inner cable attaches too and is bolted down. A lot of times the little rubber seal gets ruptured while attaching and securing this end and is a source for a leak. While I'm mentioning it, plenty of RTV around the Locar dipstick at the trans, is also for leak prevention.
Quote from: "specialdel"I have checked the TV cable adjustment and am using a TPI throttle adaptor for the Edelbrock carb. ?