Hidden Hinges

Started by RAJ484, November 25, 2006, 12:58:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RAJ484

Ok Guys,
I've got the hidden hinges ruffed in for the front doors. Heres a link to the pictures. Any advise, comments, ect will be greatly appreciated. I'm VERY new at this.
Bob

It drove into my garage...it DID drive back out!!!

Dave

Quote from: "RAJ484"Ok Guys,
I've got the hidden hinges ruffed in for the front doors. Heres a link to the pictures. Any advise, comments, ect will be greatly appreciated. I'm VERY new at this.
Bob

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j109/RAJ484/LeftSideOutside.jpg

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j109/RAJ484/RightSideInside.jpg

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j109/RAJ484/RightSideOutside.jpg

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j109/RAJ484/TopLeftHinge.jpg

Looks good. Ive never done a set my self but all the glass cars ive had had em but they were cheap junk! I cant tell by looking but i hope yours have bronze or at least brass bushings in em.  I cant believe they make em without bushings then to add insult to injury they use allen bolts and actually expect the bolt threads to swivel on or in the hinge. All this does is make em wear faster.
Dave

Crosley.In.AZ

I've never installed a set.

Looks dang good so far.  I imagine the next step is checking & rechecking for the  door alignment is close before the final welding?
Tony

Plutophobia (Fear of money)

phat rat

Quote from: "Crosley"I've never installed a set.

Looks dang good so far.  I imagine the next step is checking & rechecking for the  door alignment is close before the final welding?

Take it from one who has hidden hinges. Do as Crosley says, NO final welding until you are sure the doors swing right and have clearance. We didn't do this on the first hinge and I'll tell you by the time you have to cut it all out it leaves you wondering if you can save it.  Also if they doesn't have bushings get rid of them as there are ones that do. As Dave said they will last longer.