What is your favorite car story?

Started by donsrods, January 27, 2006, 12:26:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

donsrods

I'm new to RRT, so maybe this topic has been brought up before, but I thought on a cold night like this (well, I'm in Florida, so it isn't TOO cold, but I see some of you are in places like Iowa.............brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr) that it might be nice to trade stories about cars. Every car nut has one or more, and to start things off, here is one of mine.

I grew up near Pittsburgh, Pa. and in the mid '60's the street racers from Pittsburgh would travel north every Saturday night  to a stretch of four lane (Rt. 51) where they would meet up with the racers from the Mon-Valley, and they would race each other for maybe 3 or 4 hours until the cops would finally show up. (The nearest State Police barracks was far away)

In about 1965 the car that was one of the fastest on the street was the 396 cubic inch/ 425 horsepower Corvette. They were tearing up the streets. On one particular Saturday night there was a huge crowd there (guys would bring their dates, sit on an overlooking hill, etc. It was like the Nationals, only illegal). As the racing was going on, a white 1965 Chevy Impala pulled in. It was a nice car, had whitewalls, stock 3 bar Chevy hubcaps, fender skirts, two dummy spotlights.........just a nice slightly customized cruiser. Except it had " 396" flags on the fenders.

After some discussion, he made arrangements to run one of the 'Vettes . As soon as the negotiations over money were made (and the 'Vette crew stopped snickering about how they were going to take this guys money) the guys who came in the Chevy got to work.