Welding equipment

Started by TKD_Master38, December 20, 2005, 05:39:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TKD_Master38

Hi Gang,

Just wanted some advise on welding equipment most appropriate for car crafting.  Plasma cutter, IG or Mig??  or all three??

I have gotten some serious advice from a couple of experienced friends that is diametrically opposed  :-)

What do you think of HTP products or inverters in general??

Bruce

Crosley.In.AZ

We do plenty of welding at the torque converter place I call work.

All migs are Miller

All tigs are Lincoln.  We took a beating on the last tig purchase and some break downs just outside the warranty time limit. I was told : " there will NEVER be another Lincoln machine bought".

Time will tel.

I have a Miller 210 mig, 240 volt , welds great!  

I have a Lincoln mig 120 volt machine for 10 yrs... welds great.

I have a Thermal Dynamics cutmaster 38 plasma machine 120 volt. Cuts great.  You need a minimum of a 20 amp circuit to cut above 1/2 power setting. At full power the machine will trip a 20 breaker after a few minutes of use

8)
Tony

Plutophobia (Fear of money)

enjenjo

I have a Snapon YA212A mig, and a Lincoln SP135 110 volt mig, A Century 250 amp AC/DC stick welder, a Solar Plasma cutter,and an Esab TIG. Happy with all of them so far.
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

river1

i have a dynasty 200dx TIG, a millermatic 90 MIG, and a spectrum 300 plasma, all MILLER. happy with them all. i'm in the market for a bigger MIG unit prolly go with the MILLER 210 or 251. i also want an oxy/acetylene set up and will prolly go with SMITH on that, for their lifetime warrantee.