CORBON DIOXIDE IN MY COOLANT!?

Started by BFS57, October 18, 2005, 12:27:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SKR8PN

Quote from: "BFS57"Hello:
To SKR8Pn's reply about using the chemical test, I have some questions?
As I am not a super mechanic and some of this is going where I haven't gone before, I want to know more about other test that could pinpoint my problem! I was told by the radiator shop that a HOT compression test might shed more light on this problem. Got any other test to find whats going on? Wish I had a magic wand!

I'll be honest, every time I do something to improve this car, it seems as though it rebels by doing something like this! It's got me determined to make this car a really nice, reliable daily driver!

Thanks, Bruce

Another test you can do,is a radiator pressure test with the engine not running............let it set with pressure on it,and see how fast the pressure drops,AND WHERE is is going. If you get a puff of white smoke on startup,it is leaking into the cylinder,which means a head gasket or intake sealing problem.  If you don't see any indication in the cylinders,try checking the crankcase for coolant............These are a sort of "backwards" check to try to locate where and how the cooling system is getting the carbon monoxide and the quick pressure rise from. If all else fails,start at the intkae gasket and work your way down till you find the problem.
Remember........it is only time,gaskets and money :lol:
If we are what we eat.........
Then I am fast,cheap and easy.

bucketmouth

Have a cylinder leakage test done on it. That entails pressurizing the cylinders and checking for leaks. A blown head gasket will throw water out of the radiator filler thus the source of the CO2. This test will tell you many other things as well.
Unfortunately you will need some one that knows what they are doing.
I maybe from down under but I know which way is up.
Oh hell there goes another head rush.

ram-rod

there is a simple way to test