New guy says hello and has some questions

Started by BrendenCO, January 04, 2005, 12:33:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrendenCO

Just wanted to say hi.  I'm new to rod's but I've been playing with cars for quite a while.  My awesome website :roll:  

http://www.cardomain.com/member_pages/view_page.pl?page_id=248191&make_ty

I'm thinking of building a Model A rod and found a style that I'm using for inspiration but I don't know what parts are from what car.  You can see pictures here

http://www.hotrodsurf.com/Hot_Rods/skullator/skull2.htm

I want to know what type of suspension is on the front end, was this a stock Model A front end?  I love the single spring look.  

Also, any thoughts on the chassis?  I'm guessing it is an original Model A frame that has been Z'ed on both ends.  How do you get the body to sit so low on the chassis?  Will the frame just need to pass through the cabin or be boxed into the cabin?  

Where can I find original chasis dimentions online?

Thanks for any help.  This looks like a great community!!   :D

sirstude

Welcome to the mayhem.  Anybody that has a 65 Impala is ok in my book.  Most of those rides like you are thinking of that I have seen mount the engine and tranny on top of the frame and everything hangs out in the breeze.  I think that one probably has air bags or something adjustable on the spring mounts to let it sit down like that when it parks.

Good luck
Doug
1965 Impala SS  502
1941 Olds

Watcher of #974 1953 Studebaker Bonneville pas record holder B/BGCC 249.945 MPH.  He sure is FAST

www.theicebreaker.us

GPster