Rear Shocks

Started by rick 36dodge, October 13, 2004, 08:25:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rick 36dodge

For my winter project I am going to remove the 68 year old rear leaf springs from my 36 Dodge.
I plan to use Dodge Caravan 5 leaf springs. I also am going to put on new shocks.  Any suggestion about shocks. I am going to have to make a crossmember to mount them.  Also what angle to mount them. I have read a lot of articles that suggest 20 to 30 degrees.
Thanks for all your great advice.
Rick Harris   :D

rumrumm

20-30 degrees is correct. As far as the type or brand of shock, I have always used Gabriel gas charged shocks when I go to replace the originals. I have had no problems and they do come with a lifetime warranty. A friend of mine said he likes his Edelbrock shocks, but I have no experience with theirs personally.
Lynn
'32 3W

I write novels, too. https://lsjohanson.com

rick 36dodge

Quote from: "rumrumm"20-30 degrees is correct. As far as the type or brand of shock, I have always used Gabriel gas charged shocks when I go to replace the originals. I have had no problems and they do come with a lifetime warranty. A friend of mine said he likes his Edelbrock shocks, but I have no experience with theirs personally.
Thanks for the info, but what car are the shocks for ?  So when I go the auto parts store I can ask for a year and make.
Thanks, Rick Harris.

purplepickup

Quote from: "rick 36dodge"... what car are the shocks for ?  So when I go the auto parts store I can ask for a year and make.
Thanks, Rick Harris.
Rick, once you get the springs and crossmember installed measure the length between mounting points and either take that to your parts guy or post it here.  A bunch of us have shock catalogs that show fully extended and fully compressed shock lengths with different mounting configurations, and can give you a part number or year and make application.