Trans interchange

Started by Harry, April 12, 2013, 05:47:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Harry

I have a '94 Caprice wagon, LT1 and 4L60E trans. The trans is shot. What other trans will fit? These trans are not for just this year only, are they?
Thank you for any help.

Warpspeed

Quote from: "Harry"I have a '94 Caprice wagon, LT1 and 4L60E trans. The trans is shot. What other trans will fit? These trans are not for just this year only, are they?
Thank you for any help.
Harry, the 4L60E has been used over a great many years on a very wide range of different models and applications, and is a very common transmission.

But you need to be careful....
There are some significant differences that can cause you grief.
I am no expert, but these are some of the differences between various 4L60E transmissions that I know about.

There are two different output shaft lengths, all two wheel drive transmissions have an output shaft that is about three inches longer than all the four wheel drive transmissions.

The newer 4L60E has a six bolt pattern on the back, older 4L60E has a four bolt pattern on the back.
There were quite a few different rear extension housings made with very different gearbox mounting locations and other odd features.
Provided it has the long output shaft, and the right rear bolt pattern, you can very easily swap over your existing rear housing to solve that problem.

At the front there have been two types of bell housings. The later ones are a full 360 degrees, and earlier ones have a removable cover plate on the bottom.  They look quite different, but as far as I know either will work in any application.
The removable cover is a good feature, much better for access to the torque converter bolts, but the later 360 degree cover is stronger.

You should be able to find something fairly easily at a friendly price if you know what features to look for.

Crosley.In.AZ

I will give you a shorter answer.  :lol: