Fender Welting Installation

Started by btrc, February 15, 2004, 02:03:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

btrc

I'm just beginning final assembly on my '37 Ford and have a question on installing the welting.  Should I use some type of adhesive like weather-strip adhesive or something between the bolt holes?

Bob
Bob

purplepickup

I don't think you'd want to put adhesive on it.  When I put welting on, I take my time and cut the bolt holes a little large so I have the ability to adjust it as I'm bolting things up.   I put all the bolts in and leave them a little loose then pull or push the welting into place as I tighten the bolts.  The first time is always the worst.  After it's been on a while it takes a set and fall into place the next time.

I have an upholstery shop make my welting using real flexible vinyl.  I like the way it fits into the tight spots better than most of the stuff I've seen for sale.  I always have them make it with a fairly large flap behind the cording.  That gives me something to pull on when I'm installing it.  I just trim off the extra when I'm done.
George

Kctom

I've done a couple and did not use any.
Tom

In the past I have installed mine dry as well but a while back I was at a shop where the guy used a light coat of silicone,after cutting it to fit,he attached it to the fenders and let the silicone set up over night.He then installs them the next morning and says it works well and everything lines up perfectly....he is a one man shop so his way eliminates the need for a second set of hands.He says it comes off easily if an adjustment is needed.....I think I will try it when I re-assemble the 36....Good Luck!
"The one who dies with the most friends wins"

jimmerc