Brakes

Started by 416Ford, August 14, 2023, 08:07:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

416Ford

So we had the wheel bearing issue and it tore front caliper off the car when it came apart. My question is how do I get a proportioning valve with no residuals in it? In a newer car the proportioning valve would have close off the front brakes and I would have had rear brakes still. In this case, I have a dual master and I had no rear brakes. Photo attached is the setup I have currently.
You never have time to do it right the first time but you always have time to do it again.

lofat46

I have a firewall mounted master on my '48 Ford and had the same on my old '46 Chevy and only had the proportioning valve pictured. Never needed a check valve or separated proportioning valve.

416Ford

Under the floor mounting must have check valves to prevent feed back.
John, can the one you show be used with the valves in the system?
I see it says two front lines, I would need One front line and one back line.
You never have time to do it right the first time but you always have time to do it again.

WZ JUNK

I recently replaced the one on my old truck.  I used the residual valves with one of the factory style proportioning valves like the one in the link.  My master cylinder is under the floor.  I plumbed it so that I used two lines for the front because I already had that from the old system.  That is the way the factory setup was.  I do not know if you could plug one of the ports and just use one to supply the front brakes.
WZ JUNK
Chopped 48 Chevy Truck
Former Crew chief #974 1953 Studebaker   
Past Bonneville record holder B/BGCC 249.9 MPH

416Ford

Looked at the Q and A on Speedway site and this is what I need. I can run this with under floor setup and I can plug off one of the lines for my setup. Thanks John.

Bruce Dorsi