Master Disconnect Switch

Started by 34ford, March 10, 2004, 10:47:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

34ford

I have my master disconnect switch installed in line on the positive side of the battery cable which goes all the way up to the starter. Also the wire from the alternator (which is a one wire) goes to the same terminal on the starter as the battery. My question is, is the positive the right wire to switch? If the car is running and something goes bad and I want to kill the power quickly and shut off the master switch I'm thinking the power will not be coming from the battery but alternator will still be sending voltage to the main fuse panel wire which is also on the same terminal on the starter so the motor will still be running and all things powered up. Both the alternator and the main harness wires have fuseable links in them. I have a seperate #10 wire from the battery going to a small 4 fuse panel to work the remote door unlocks and the receiver when the master disconnect is turned off and the doors on the car are closed and windows up. I do also have a manual release for the doors incase all power is lost or a fuse pops for the remote entry.  
If I would put the switch in the negative side and still had the 4 fuse panel hot wouldn't it feed a ground back thru it. All my grounds go to a terminal strip on the main fuse box (which is a Haywire unit) and a #10 wire back to the battery .

Hope this is clear.  Thanks for the help

Bob

model a vette

I've run my switch in the negative side for 20 some years but I don't think the car will shut off if I work the switch with the engine running.

There are some new style switches which have two pairs of terminals. One pair for the positive battery cable and another pair for the alternator wire going to the battery. The pairs are isolated from each other.

The reason for the isolation is to stop the engine from running off of the alternator if the switch just cut the battery cable.
Ed

Bruce Dorsi